December 2008

Another Trip to Salcedo Market

Sunday, December 28, 2008

Pin It I thought, since it was a long vacation, Salcedo Market would be closed. I was craving for Tinapa Rice. I decided to try my luck, I called up Ninak, trying to see if they were gonna be open December 27. No answer. Called up my cousin who lived near the food market, she said it was indeed open and so I left a message, telling my suki to reserve 3 orders of Tinapa rice for me. Luckily on the way over, she replied that she already had the food waiting for me. Goody!
Salcedo tinapa rice
I proceeded to Ninak as soon as I arrived and got my patiently waiting brunch. I then carried on to the next stall in my list of food staples. As I walked mindlessly around, my hands holding tight bags full of food, I began to take note of other gastronomic delights that I wanted to try for the next weekend. I already tried 3 different Lasagnas (P300) from La Cuisine, plus their Short Ribs (P300), but I have yet to try their chicken and baby back ribs.
Salcedo La Cuisine bw

Salcedo la cuisine food
Then there was also Picole frozen yogurt on stick, raved on by a friend. Seeing as I couldn't get home right away, I could not risk buying and letting the sun's heat melt the frozen goodness inside my car.
Salcedo Picole
Then there was also the fruit shake recommended by my cousin. I wasn't able to get one, seeing as I had no more available hand to hold the drink out for me. Oh well, there's always next Saturday.
Salcedo fruit shakes bw

Salcedo fruit shakes
Pin It

Food: The Centerpiece for Any Celebration

Friday, December 26, 2008

Pin It Since it's a time for feasts and festivities, I would just like to dedicate this post to the thing that bonds families and friends during the holidays... good old food. Let me run through my 10 favorite food shots taken by my Sony Cybershot, and hopefully in the near future, I can compare these with photos taken by my soon-to-be-owned (wishing, wishing) Nikon D80 and Canon 1000D.

Added Note: These are all raw shots, no post-processing done...

10. Tempura California Maki
cali maki

9. Super Bowl Almond Jelly
Super Bowl almond jelly

8. TGI Friday's Parmesan-Crusted Chicken Quesadilla
TGIF Quesadilla 2

7. Delifrance Tuscan Pepper Shrimp Pasta
Delifrance tuscan pepper shrimp

6. KopiRoti Kopi Bun
KopiRoti kopi bun

5. Super Bowl Prawn Crackers
Super Bowl kropek

4. TGI Friday's Chili Grilled Chicken Breast
TGIF Chili grilled chicken breast

3. Delifrance Red Grape with Whipped Cream Shake
Delifrance red grape shake

2. Dulcinea Churros Con Chocolate
Dulcinea churros con chocolate

1. Las Paellas Oysters Rockefeller
Las Paellas oysters
Please, please, I'd love to hear your favorites too. Or if you saw something else, a better food shot from all my other previous posts, please let me know.
Pin It

Food Trips (Part 4: Super Bowl of China)

Sunday, December 21, 2008

Pin It Super Bowl of China is up next on the Food Trips series. Every meal starts with prawn crackers served to pacify any hunger brewing or merely a way for the mouth to while away the time spent waiting for the appetizer or main course.
Super Bowl kropek
More often than not, we order the Crispy Noodles with Assorted Seafood (P240 +SC). Crispy fried egg noodles smothered with cuttlefish, boneless fish fillet, shrimp, other seafood, mixed vegetables and mixed mushrooms in a clear, light seafood sauce. I love the way the crispness of the noodles is tamed by the sauce, and the flavor is quite good. Sometimes though, it could be a tad bit salty, but I'm guessing it's more due to the chef than of the pegged standard recipe.
Super Bowl noodles
There were a few new dishes on the menu so we opted to give the Crispy Mandarin Chicken (P179 +SC) a try. Juicy, boneless chicken fillets fried to a golden brown crisp, doused in a light and mildly spiced Chinese Sauce, and served with Taiwan Petchay on the side. A bit disappointing this one is. The chicken depends solely on the sauce for its flavor, and not even a good one at that. Take away the sauce and you have a bland, plain chicken, unworthy of a second helping. The only thing I liked about it is the crunchy chicken skin, though it does not make up for the overall lack of flavor at all.
Super Bowl mandarin chicken
My favorite dessert would be the Mango Sago (P80) which sadly they didn't have at that time and so I settled for the Almond Jelly with Mixed Fruits (P70) instead. It was nice, nothing special though, just the typical almond jelly of your typical Chinese restaurant. Still, it served a good finish to the meal. Another dessert to try is their Taho (P70). It's good for four people and the sweet, brown sauce is better than the taho street vendors'.
Super Bowl almond jelly
Pin It

Food Trips (Part 3: KopiRoti)

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Pin It I first got a taste of the famous Kopi bun about a couple of months ago when my cousin and I were walking around MOA, waiting for the next segment of our seminar in SMX Convention Center. She dragged me to the small shop, raving about some kind of a coffee bun which I had no interest in. I'm not a caffeine addict nor am I a bun lover. She bought a couple of buns for herself urging me to do same, though in vain.

Halfway through the seminar however, my stomach started to complain. I nudged my cousin asking for some snacks, a cracker or candy to temporarily satiate my hunger. She offered me the Kopi bun and I wrinkled my nose. Nope, not interested. But my tummy was growling something else in reply. So I went ahead and took off a small piece of the bread and put it inside my mouth. Boy was I wrong about thinking it might taste too coffee-ish. Though it hinted coffee, it did not taste strongly as such, and the butter that oozes out of the bun and into your fingers was in fact heavenly. She smiled wryly as she noticed that I was then pinching a much bigger piece of the bun.
KopiRoti kopi bun
Indeed, the Kopi Bun (P40) leaves a pleasant mark in your palate. I also love their Soft Boiled Eggs (P30). 2 soft boiled eggs with black soya sauce and white pepper. The sweet soya sauce gives a different but tasteful flavor making me finish it even before I finished half the bun.
KopiRoti eggs
KopiRoti also offers different set meals like french toast/buns with drinks. I order the Kopi Bun with Soft boiled Eggs and Iced Tea (P105), which makes for a very delicious afternoon snack. They now have a branch in BF too.
KopiRoti set meal

KopiRoti
Spot: Pergola Mall Aguirre Ave. BF Homes, Paranaque
Telephone: +632 409.2874

Related Posts:
Food Trips (Part 1: Dulcinea)
Food Trips (Part 2: Las Paellas)
Food Trips (Part 4: Super Bowl of China)
Pin It

Food Trips (Part 2: Las Paellas)

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Pin It I'm not really sure, but I think the owners of Las Paellas are the same as that of Mingoy's and Amalia's. Can someone tell me if that little info is accurate?

Anyway, there are several delightful dishes from this little Spanish restaurant. One of my favorites is the Pork Chop Anadaluz (P175 +SC) two pieces (P225 +SC). Grilled pepper-crusted pork chop in mushroom and wine sauce. I always go for the two piece, no extra rice please. It isn't so much really extraordinary as it is a favorite viand in whatever marinade you serve me. But still, the meat is tender, the sauce is good and it fills me up for several hours contentedly.
Las Paellas porkchop
Their Oysters Rockefeller (P215 +SC) is also good. I love the cheesy goodness baked in with the oyster meat. But then again, nothing exceptional, as I would guess with oysters rockefeller -- whatever restaurant they may be from -- variation of flavor is limited. Competition would only be in terms of freshness and presentation.
Las Paellas oysters

Las Paellas
Spot: 63 Presidents Ave. Phase 1, BF Homes (near Conti's)
Telephone: +632 807.7972













Spot: Promenade Entrance Festival Mall, Filinvest Corporate City, Alabang (across Starbucks)
Telephone: +632 842.6919













Related Posts:
Food Trips (Part 1: Dulcinea)
Food Trips (Part 3: KopiRoti)
Food Trips (Part 4: Super Bowl of China)
Another Taste of Las Paellas
Pin It

Food Trips (Part 1: Dulcinea)

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Pin It I love food, though one would think otherwise considering my weight or lack thereof. Still, instead of complaining, I find myself being grateful and basking in the knowledge that I should relish this before slow metabolism -- that may come with age -- starts kicking in.

Let me share with you some of my food trips. Everyday, casual gastronomic adventures, ranging from restaurants to food stalls and all things scrumptious in between.

Let's start off with Dulcinea. My favorite food to order would be their Gypsy Steak (P323 +SC). I love, love, love their Gypsy Steak and just thinking about it makes me crave again for the tender meat and the juicy fat, seasoned with herb butter. They serve it with soup, rice (which I drench in the herb butter sauce), mashed potatoes (which I pass on to my hubby or my mom) and buttered vegetables.
Dulcinea gypsy steak
Their Salpicao (P280 +SC) is also good. Tenderloin cubes sauteed in olive oil and garlic. Best paired with garlic rice, although the meat is more firm than the gypsy steak's.
Dulcinea salpicao
Dulcinea is also known for their Churros Con Chocolate (P89 +SC), definitely a house specialty. The richness of the hot chocolate is balanced naturally by the crunchy churros. A perfect ending to a perfect meal, enough to satiate your sweet tooth.
Dulcinea churros con chocolate
Pin It

This Little Piggy Went to Salcedo Market

Saturday, December 6, 2008

Pin It My mom's maid recently left. And that could only mean one thing, it's back to take out food and home deliveries in my parents' household (like me, my mom does not cook, unlike me though, she knows how, but it's her least favorite chore which would explain the family's adaptable palate for non-homemade food). After days of enduring the all-too-familiar fast food and restaurant meals, we decided to visit the Saturday Salcedo Food Market to get a whiff of something unfamiliar, at least in the several months since we've last visited.
Salcedo La Cuisine

Salcedo Rafik

Salcedo Kashmir

Salcedo food
The Salcedo Market offers a melting pot of home cooked meals, sweet desserts, fresh fruits and vegetable produce, flowers and plants, baskets and wooden home decors. You'd have to be prepared with cash though, as with summer time accessories (sunglasses, caps, fans and umbrellas if you will). It's a bit hot walking around after you tire yourself in getting a much elusive parking space -- mainly due to the fact that the popularity of the Salcedo Market has extended way beyond the area's residents. You will see a diverse crowd, from the locals sporting shorts and slippers to the weekly pilgrims clad in jeans and summer dresses.
Salcedo produce

Salcedo plants

Salcedo baskets

Salcedo cotton candy

Some of my favorites are:

1. Joy's Swiss Ham - Their ham is tender and with the right balance of meat and fat. Plus, a super plus, their sauce is really good. Right amount of sweetness and blends well with the ham's flavor. If you can't finish it, just store both the ham and sauce in the freezer (but I can finish a half kilo in one sitting, it's that good). You need not worry, the sauce maintains its flavor, just heat it up together with the ham and you'll get the same sweet goodness. The half kilo goes for P400 but totally worth every peso. You can also see them in bazaars like the American Women's Bazaar held monthly at the World Trade Center.
Salcedo Joys ham poster

Salcedo hamon
Joy's Swiss Ham
Spot: Salcedo Food Market, American Women's Bazaar in World Trade Center
Telephone: +632 524.2891
Cellphone: +0920 902.6322 / +0919 466.7769

2. Ineng's Barbeque - Their barbeque is not really out of this world, but yummy just the same. They're meatier, more tender and chewy than the ones sold on the streets, and the fat complements the meat without the i'm-gonna-be-sick-with-cholesterol feeling. Ineng's actually has a branch in Alabang Town Center, near Red Ribbon. They also have other branches in different malls.
Salcedo Inengs

Salcedo Inengs bbq
Ineng's Barbeque
Spot: Salcedo Food Market, Alabang Town Center
Telephone: +632 771.2006

3. Ninak - It's "kanin" spelled backwards and so you can now very well guess their specialty. I first came across Ninak in Northgate Cyberzone, Alabang (sadly, they're now closed). My hubby raved about the place and brought us there so I can try it out myself. I was not disappointed. I loved their Crispy Beef Belly. It may look dry and flaky, but once you sink your teeth in it, you will appreciate its soft and chewy texture. The sweet soy sauce and the singkamas on the side definitely adds brownie points. But their best dish is the Tinapa Rice (P150), which I've first tried here in Salcedo. A single order can feed 2-3 people. It's a dish well appreciated by the sense of sight, smell and taste. Forgive me though, the smell of it as I opened the container made the thought of taking a shot of it and posting it here vanish altogether. I instantly devoured my share, totally forgetting about my Tinapa-Rice-pictureless blog.
Salcedo Ninak

Salcedo Ninak food
Added Note:
After talking with Ninak's crew, I found out that the owners are the same ones as Brothers Burger's.

4. Packed Lunch- Okay, so it's not really named as such. I've just baptized it with that term because first, I don't know the name of their stall, all those food made me forget to ask and look for their banner. Second, because the owner (not sure if Chinese but has Oriental features and skin color) always asks me if I want to avail of the packed lunch, which is you get to choose any 2 among all the viands displayed on the table (which are mostly homemade Filipino food), plus rice for a whopping total of... only P100. I love this stall because their food is great, their prices are easy on the pocket, and they heap a generous amount of food into each container, much unlike others who measure scantily each serving.
Salcedo packed lunch
Added Note:
I did my research and found out that the name of this food stall is Shang Express. They still have no banner, but they're usually located near the Leviste St. entrance of the food market. Aside from their weekly stint in Salcedo, they also do catering.

Shang Express Catering
Contact Person: William C. Pascual
Cellphone: +63927 979.6811
Telephone: +632 721.1949

5. Manong's Inihaw na Bangus - Again, a stall name I failed to question but with yummy food nevertheless. More specifically, Inihaw na Bangus (P120). Just look for the guy in the picture, he's the one who always mans the stall. You might wanna look for him initially during your food trip and reserve your bangus first because sometimes, it's not yet ready. Grilling time is about 10-15 minutes better wasted walking around the area, scouring for other delectable dishes.
Salcedo inihaw bangus
A trip to Salcedo Market is one experience people, especially foodies, will enjoy doing every weekend. The marriage of different cuisines and world specialties in one location will leave your stomach -- and eyes -- full and very much satisfied.

Salcedo Market
Spot: Jaime Velasquez open parking lot (right across One Salcedo and Three Salcedo Place) between Tordesillas and Leviste Sts. Salcedo Village, Makati
Operating Hours: Saturdays 7am - 2pm

Related Post:
Another Trip to Salcedo Market
Pin It

Winning GC's from Southbound.ph's Cold Rock Promo

Friday, December 5, 2008

Pin It Today is a very happy day. Why, you ask? Today, I have claimed the Cold Rock gift certificates that I won via blogging about Cold Rock and submitting it to Southbound.ph's Cold Rock promo. When I arrived at the Cold Rock Express kiosk in Town, I told the crew that I was there to claim my GC's. They immediately smiled and confirmed my name. Hey, they knew who I was, nice. Apparently, they already have my GC's tucked away inside a neat little blue envelope with my name on it, all ready and waiting for me.
Cold Rock gift certificates
Of course, my daughter was already tugging at my dress, pointing to the selection of ice cream flavors, ready to choose and order. "Mommy, I like the pink and blue ice cream." "Mommy I like the little candy kisses and marshmallows." Nothing beats free food especially free Cold Rock ice cream.
Cold Rock collage 2
You can still win a Cold Rock gift certificate just by blogging. Southbound.ph's Cold Rock promo will run until December 21, 2008. Better hurry and check it out.

Related Post:
Going Around Town (Part 3: Cold Rock Dessert)
Pin It

My first Sony experience is with my Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W150

Thursday, December 4, 2008

Pin It Technically, my first Sony product was, if I remember correctly, the Sony Walkman. Decades past have made my memory incapable of describing how it was like to own and use one. Throughout the years, I've had my fair share of Sony products: Sony Discman, TV, Laser Disc player, VHS player, DVD player, cameras, Handycam, PlayStation. The brand was and still is, a staple in our household.
Though all products owned, past and present, are well appreciated, comforted by the guarantee that the brand ensures, I can say that my first true Sony experience is with the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W150. The excitement of being able to capture every precious moment, boundless in creativity and limitless in quantity, provides an exhilarating emotion that only a first-time anything can.

And it doesn't stop there. As a fairly new blogger, it used to be that I am forced to be contented with merely searching for pictures over the internet to accompany whatever articles or posts that I write. This changed with the ownership of the Sony Cyber-shot, which bequeathed to me freedom to explore and immortalize photo subjects to my liking.
food collage B 650h
What started as a board for my views and opinions about a smorgasbord of topics slowly treads a path of food and dining chronicles and accounts of daily events. It has become a gallery for a newly found interest in getting a shot of every circumstance, with food as my current favorite photo subject, though yet to be perfected, a conscious effort towards improvement, notwithstanding. That is experience in the truest sense of the word, brought about by my Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W150.
food collage 500
It definitely gave significance in my life just like the Sony's World's First 24.6 MP Full Frame DSLR: α900 DLSR Camera, which will really help me capture memories with sharper images and pursue a passion for all things photography.

Pin It
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...